Tags

, ,

row of wooden faced houses in norwayI’ve been distracted for the last few days with house-hunting.  I love viewing houses; I’m terminally nosy.  I could happily book fake appointments with estate agents until the cows came home and spend a weekend pottering around various residences both second-hand and new!

At the moment, my house is fairly small.  Not too small – people in Tokyo have to put up with a lot worse! – but small compared with, say, a house in the USA or Australia or even on the European mainland (except the Netherlands).  My house is a typically English Victorian terrace, with two downstairs rooms and a tiny kitchen tacked on the back.  Upstairs there are two bedrooms – a master bedroom large enough for a double bed, and a smaller box room – and a bathroom.  The bathroom is a generous size, one of my favourite things about the house.  The master bedroom, while not exactly palatial, is larger than some of the master bedrooms I’ve seen in new houses recently.  It doesn’t have built-in wardrobes but there is room for our own free-standing wardrobe and various chests-of-drawers.

Even the downstairs, while compact, is made more spacious by the existence of two rooms, giving an extra wall against which to rest things.  However, the design of this kind of house – they are all identical – means that the back room has three doors, leaving only one corner door-free.  This makes it hard to place furniture because you have to be able to reach all of the doors, and it can easily drive you a little mad!

I’ve always found my little house to be big enough for my requirements – but then, I’ve never been a keen cook.  Since being in a relationship my humble abode has acquired a lot of kitchen gadgets as well as a double helping of books, tools, camping paraphernalia and other necessities of life!

