Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I can’t believe it’s been so long since I wrote a blog! I guess I just didn’t have anything important to say. Plenty of stuff has been happening, but nothing earth shattering.

I’ve been in a play. Am dram, nothing paid or professional or famous. But it took up a lot of my time during April and May. Two nights a week doesn’t sound often for rehearsals – not a lot of time to give up – but it does mean that everything else you want to do has to be crammed into Mondays and Wednesdays. (I don’t count Fridays. Friday evenings were made for either doing nothing or getting pissed.)

The run of the play was the week beginning May 21st, so it’s only been finished a couple of weeks and I’ve been enjoying my new-found freedom. At the beginning of June, of course, it was the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee double bank holiday – Monday and Tuesday off work – bliss! Mike and I went to Nottingham on the bank holiday Saturday. We visited the castle, the caves and the Galleries of Justice. I think the Galleries of Justice was my favourite. There was plenty of stuff to keep kinky people entertained!

On the bank holiday Monday we went to the Melton Mowbray Show and saw motorbike stuntman Steve Colley, who put on a very impressive display.

I had my first attempt at knitting a sock, which failed miserably. I ended up ripping out the whole thing and starting again. The second time, instead of using a toe-up pattern, I’m using a top-down ‘sock tutorial’, which isn’t exactly a pattern but more like instructions on how to construct it, and you sort of design your own pattern. It seems to be working well for me so far, although I haven’t gotten down to turning the heel yet. I’m just doing a basic one-by-one rib as I figured that would be plenty stretchy enough to accommodate any miscalculations.

I’ve had a few more piano playing sessions with my German pal. I can’t quite figure out whether we’re friends or just acquaintances. I find her rather enigmatic. I’m also not sure what she gets out of our sessions, as we don’t play proper duets. Sight-reading practice, I suppose, but she could do that just as well by herself. Maybe it just helps her be less shy about playing in front of others, or maybe my woeful lack of skills make her feel better about herself. My piano playing definitely suffered while the play was on.

This is a busy time for me at work – I have a lot to get done. I need to get a new section of our company’s website up and running ASAP, as well as implementing a whole bunch of changes to the rest of the website, write a complicated award application and all the other usual stuff. However, I’ve just had another pay rise, which makes it all worth my while. Big smiles all round.

I also owe a friend a drawing of himself that I promised. I took some photos a while ago and resolved to make a drawing out of one of them. So I’m going to make a start on that tomorrow, after work, at Mike’s office because he has great light there.

